Wax or Oil Before CA on a wooden pen?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Redcoat

I tried to search for this and didn't see anything, so it's either something that is such common knowledge that nobody else has had to ask or so dumb that it's obvious to everyone else 😂 But I figured I'd ask before wasting time, effort and money.

I'm still brand new at this hobby only 7 pens deep at this point, but damn am I loving it. My question is this; with wooden pens, can a wax, oil or other finish for the wood be applied before the CA finish? Would it even help?

I've noticed the wood does liven up under the CA, so it might be unnecessary and I can guess the wax/oil might interfere with the CA or pull it out of the wood and get cloudy, I don't know so I'm asking :)

Thanks for any and all help.
(Attached my most recent 2 because even though there are still some flaws in technique/execution, I'm still proud of them :D)

Attachments

• 452888916_2198055403893142_2759654451092230222_n.jpg
    452888916_2198055403893142_2759654451092230222_n.jpg
    104.6 KB · Views: 55
  • 452243659_3774487549473583_6325578806789204018_n.jpg
    452243659_3774487549473583_6325578806789204018_n.jpg
    318.6 KB · Views: 55
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I have seen videos and comments from pen turners that used boiled linseed oil to darken or bring out the character of their wood before applying a CA finish. I think wax would be detrimental to the adhesion of CA though. I have never combined the two myself though, so I can not offer any direct experience. You should be proud of your pens. It's a skill that is learned and all of us went through the learning curve. Thanks for sharing them. - Dave

I use boiled linseed oil with CA glue as a pen finish. I put both on my applicator next to each other. I apply the CA glue first immediately followed by the boiled linseed oil on top. Continue moving the applicator until the finish is cured. Move on to the next layer applying as many as "needed".