Oscillating spindle sander question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Monty

Group Buy Coordinator
I have a Jet JBOS-5 oscillating spindle sander that I have not used in several years. It has been under a bench in my shop. I wanted to use it yesterday and I had to literally peal the old sandpaper off the rubber spindle. I tried for sometime to slide the new sandpaper on the tube but could not get it to go on more that 2/3 of the way. Tried several spindles with the same result. Could it be possible that while it has been setting in my non climate controlled shop that the rubber spindle has somehow absorbed moisture and expanded slightly?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Do your spindles require you to tighten it on with a nut over a washer? I am not an expert on spindle sander brands but the ones I know (Grizzly and HF) use nuts and washers. These nuts do compress the rubber just a bit and that causes the rubber spindles to expand out and hold the sandpaper tubes tight.

I have two possible solutions: buy new rubber spindles or . . . not sure if this would work, but put them in hot water in a large pan, let them set for an hour or two at 150° F (no more) and then let them cool down with the water to room temp. My thoughts are that the temp in water MIGHT let them loosen up and expand vertically back to original and thereby decrease their diameter.

I do not know how rubber will react, and if anyone else knows more, please chime in.

By the way, I had a HF sander and had some parts that broke that made the spindle go up and down. By the time mine broke, it was discontinued and no parts available for it. For that particular model about 8 years ago, I found the almost exact model with Grizzly. I ordered the part for the Grizzly and it fixed the discontinued HF. Grizzly has been great (in the past) for being able to get parts.

SO, as far as the rubber spindles, go, if there is any way to tell the specific size, will another brand work?