Hello from Gallup, NM

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

riplakish5

New to the group and have been away from pen turning for a few years. I have been woodworking for about 60 years. Fifteen of those years I was a wood patternmaker for a foundry. I got my first woodworking multi-tool when I was 8 years old and have loved working with wood ever since. I have turned quite a few pens and small turning in the past. But I now have a question for the group; is there a good alternative to CA for gluing tubes in wood blanks? CA has started giving me breathing issues. I am starting a large pen project of about 50 to 60 pens. I have the wood blanks all drilled and ready for tubes, but I am not looking forward to CA fumes. Thanks for any suggestions.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

derekdd

Welcome aboard!

To answer your question, many here use 5 minute, 2 part epoxy to glue tubes into blanks. Longer open time, better hold, but you have to wait a bit before you can turn.

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Welcome to IAP, and I will also voice a recommendation for two part epoxy. Many varieties, but each will do the job within their specs.

egnald

Greetings from Nebraska and welcome to the IAP Community. Like many here, I too use epoxy to glue my tubes into the blanks. I finish with CA, but I use the GluBoost family of products which at least to my nose fumes are much less noticeable than other CA products. - Dave

Jarod888

As many before have said, 5 minute epoxy works great. If you glue up multiple blanks in one sitting, go with the 15 minute variety.

I've used all different kinds. I like the plunge dispenser type. I find that they dispense even amounts of both a and b. They are probably more expensive to buy, but because the containers are smaller, you use them up and don't end up wasting as much if the go bad.