Glue sets before tube is fully inserted in blank

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Joesteam

Hello everyone. I am new to turning and making pens. One problem I have had is gluing the brass tube in the blank. After drilling and making sure it fits, I test the tube and all looks and feels good. I apply the CA glue and a couple of times the glue set before I finish putting the tube in fully. Should I just use epoxy for this instead of CA glue? Thanks in advance

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Epoxy is one answer,
however, I made hundreds of pens using CA and ran into that problem often enough to diagnose the cause.
1> Don't use thin CA, use medium or thick
2> If the blank is still warm from drilling, heat accelerates CA, wait until it cools
3> If you used water to cool, water accelerates CA, dry the blank thoroughly before inserting CA and tube.

Follow those suggestions and you can glue with CA, if you wish.
Epoxy will give a better bond, but I never wanted to mess with mixing epoxy

Welcome to the hobby--HAVE FUN!!!!!

Ed

I am in the epoxy crowd; however, I have used thick CA (actually CA Gel) on occasion if I was in a real hurry and couldn't wait for the epoxy to cure. If you have a spare tube you can sometimes glue it in from the opposite end and then cut the excess tube off from both ends. Measure and barrel trim (or sand) it on the ends to get rid of the rough spots and to get it to the exact length. It works most of the time and can sometimes save a really nice blank. - Dave

PS Bob Blanford (RJB Woodturner) made a YouTube 9 years ago showing how he does it. The video is called Repairing A Pen Blank When The Tube Isn't Fully Inserted.

Thank you all for your help. I will use this advice. I started by watching Cat Eddie Castelin videos and got hooked. I love making pens and give them to family and friends. Always looking for better methods and techniques. Thank you all