New from Springfield, Mo

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

EdwardMH

Hello, I am a Disabled Veteran looking for something to occupy my free time and decide I wanted to try and learn wood working. After a trip to the Grizzly Tent sale and $6,000 later I thought I had everything I would want to learn (Have hope of making a spare $500 a month profit after expenses and supplies) with the woodshop to pay for Vactions and such. I just got back from the Midwest Scroll Saw and Woodworking Trade show in Dubuque, IA. Where I had hoped to learn more on using my new Dewalt 788 Scroll Saw. I got talked into turning my own pen and having never touched a Lathe before was nervous.

I do not think I did too bad for my first pen and did 90% of the work myself.

Now I think I want to do more pens but no idea where to start, who makes the best / most affordable pen kits, get table top Lathe or full sized to use for other future stuff as my skills improve, what other items do I need to get started, learn and grow my abilities.

Any help will be welcomed.

Attachments

• IMG_4336.jpg
    IMG_4336.jpg
    187.4 KB · Views: 144
  • IMG_4319.jpg
    IMG_4319.jpg
    346 KB · Views: 138
  • IMG_4318.jpg
    IMG_4318.jpg
    105.8 KB · Views: 118
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
Welcome Edward! I am in Ozark at the moment visiting my daughter. Been to your Grizzly many many times. I also bought a DW 788 about 18 months ago at Grizzly, along with lathe, bandsaw, thickness sander and more over several years.

Enjoy the pen turning. Most people come to this forum, spend 2 to 5 years and drop out. One key to continue this madness is to branch out into other areas of woodworking as your are doing. I have been around wood working and saw mills since I was a kid in the early 50's. Love the smell of wood!

You did a great job on your first pen. Enjoy it and the next one and the next too!

Jim15