Unstabilized Wood

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

George883

I'm still a newbie having turned only 35 pens so far. My questions is: do you experience any problems using wood that hasn't been stabilized? Thanks.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I would say that depends on the species. Oily type exotics normally don't give me much trouble. Rocky Mountain Maple and service berry I always stabilize. Maybe you can share what species you would want to know about.

Dehn0045

I think the main issue is the extremes of the environment where the pen is stored -- compared to the environment where it is assembled and finished. If the pen is maintained in a controlled climate (temperature and humidity) equal to where it was finished/assembled, then you can expected to not have many issues even with unstabilized materials. Obviously this is unrealistic, so the question is "how much is the environment going to change", and "how fast". As Tom notes -- oily woods tend to be a little more stable, but they also tend be be harder which can make them brittle, a bit of a double-edge sword. Grain is also something to pay attention to, wood swells and shrinks across the grain but much less with the grain. Cross-cut or angle cut can be more susceptible to cracking. Also, segmenting can cause issues -- different materials expanding and contracting at different rates and in different directions. Finally the finish that you use can be a factor -- more flexible finishes are less prone to cracking.